Cats & Dogs
Best Dog Beds for Large and XL Dogs, Sized by Weight Rating and Sleep Surface (2026)
A big dog's bed has to fit the dog, not just the room. Seven large and XL beds ranked by stated weight rating, usable sleep surface and padding depth, with the size each price was checked for.
By Nick Miles Β· Updated October 3, 2026 Β· 13 min read
PetPalHQ is reader-supported. We may earn a commission from qualifying Amazon purchases at no extra cost to you.

Evidence at a Glance
Orthopedic Memory Foam Dog Bed, 7 Inch Thick, Extra Large, With Pillow
A flat 50 x 34 inch top of 7-inch memory foam with a 3-inch headrest, a 130-pound maximum weight recommendation and a waterproof liner.
Sources: VCA Animal Hospitals β Hygroma in Dogs, Listing specifications (Amazon)
Verified Oct 3, 2026
Dogbed4less Extra Large Gel-Infused Memory Foam Dog Bed
A 47 x 29 x 4 inch pad sized to fit an XL 48 x 30 inch crate, rated to 100 pounds, with a waterproof internal cover under a washable denim cover.
Sources: VCA Animal Hospitals β Hygroma in Dogs, Dogbed4less listing specifications
Verified Oct 3, 2026
Casper Dog Bed, Plush Memory Foam, Large, Gray
A 35 x 45 x 7 inch memory foam bed with foam bolsters, extra top fabric for dogs that dig, and a 90-pound maximum weight recommendation.
Sources: Merck Veterinary Manual β Hygroma in Dogs, Casper listing specifications
Verified Oct 3, 2026
Our Picks

Orthopedic Memory Foam Dog Bed, 7 Inch Thick, Extra Large, With Pillow
9.8 / 10
- Price checked October 3, 2026, size Extra Large, per the listing title
- 50 inches long and 34 inches wide, 7-inch memory foam, 3-inch headrest
- Maximum Weight Recommendation 130 pounds, per the Product Details table
- Includes a waterproof liner; removable, machine-washable cover
$109.95
Current price Β· checked Oct 3, 2026

Dogbed4less
Dogbed4less Extra Large Gel-Infused Memory Foam Dog Bed
8.7 / 10
- Price checked October 3, 2026, size Extra Large, per the listing title
- 47 x 29 x 4 inches, per the Product Details table
- Sized to fit an XL 48 x 30 inch crate
- Maximum Weight Recommendation 100 pounds, per the Product Details table
$82.79
Current price Β· checked Oct 3, 2026

Casper
Casper Dog Bed, Plush Memory Foam, Large, Gray
7.0 / 10
- Price checked October 3, 2026, size Large, color Gray, per the listing title
- 35 x 45 x 7 inches, per the Product Details table
- Maximum Weight Recommendation 90 pounds, per the Product Details table
- Foam bolsters on the mattress for the dog's head
$224.10
Current price Β· checked Oct 3, 2026

Snoozer
Snoozer Overstuffed Dog Sofa, Luxury Dog Couch, Sapphire (XL)
5.7 / 10
- Price checked October 3, 2026, size XL, color Sapphire, per the listing title
- Outer size 54 W x 36 D x 13 H inches; interior sleep area 34 W x 24 D inches
- Zip-off cover is machine washable in cold water; tumble or hang dry
- Center pillow has no removable cover but is machine washable in an XL washer
$240.95
Current price Β· checked Oct 3, 2026

XXL Dog Bed, Orthopedic Memory Cooling Foam
5.5 / 10
- Price checked October 3, 2026, on a listing titled XXL; the check did not show this variant's outer dimensions
- 6-inch base and 5-inch bolster, 11 inches high in total
- Three-layer base: 4-inch foam, 1-inch memory foam and 1-inch eggshell foam infused with cooling gel
- Two covers, inner and outer, both washable and removable
$84.97
Current price Β· checked Oct 3, 2026

Best Friends by Sheri
Best Friends by Sheri The Original Calming Donut Dog Bed β Washable Plush Pet Bed
4.6 / 10
- Price checked October 3, 2026; the check did not show which size this price covers
- Round donut shape with a raised rim
- Removable, machine-washable cover
- Water- and dirt-resistant bottom
$149.99
Current price Β· checked Oct 3, 2026

Orvis
Orvis ComfortFill-Eco Couch Dog Bed β Plush Three-Sided Bolster
4.0 / 10
- Price checked October 3, 2026; the check did not show which size this price covers
- Three-sided bolster couch design
- Published size ladder from Small to X Large; X Large is 50 x 37 inches for dogs 60 to 120 lbs
- Whole bed goes in the laundry, or unzip the cover
$339.00
Current price Β· checked Oct 3, 2026
The Short Answer
For a large dog that sleeps stretched out, the 7-inch Extra Large memory foam bed with pillow is the top-scoring pick: its listing gives a 50 x 34 inch flat top, 7-inch memory foam and a 130-pound maximum weight recommendation. For an XL crate, the Dogbed4less pad is sized to fit a 48 x 30 inch crate and is rated to 100 pounds. The Casper Large tops out at 90 pounds, so it suits the lower end of the large-dog range. Compare the usable sleep surface, not the outer size: the Snoozer XL sofa measures 54 inches wide outside but has a 34 x 24 inch interior. VCA notes that any large- or giant-breed dog, of any age, is at risk of a hygroma if it spends time resting on hard surfaces.
Every product on this list has been scored against the PetPal Gear Score, a weighted composite of expert consensus, observed effectiveness, animal safety, long-term durability, and value. Review method: Editorial synthesis of VCA Animal Hospitals and Merck Veterinary Manual guidance on large and giant-breed dogs resting on hard surfaces, read against manufacturer-supplied Amazon listing specifications read October 3, 2026, with every price checked on Amazon October 3, 2026 for the size and color named on each card. Rankings follow the published PetPal Big-Dog Bed Fit Score weights. No first-hand product testing.. Synthesized from 3+ expert sources.
A dog bed for a large or extra large dog has one job that a small dog's bed rarely fails at: it has to be big enough for the dog to actually lie on. Listings make that harder than it should be, because many quote an outer size that includes thick bolsters and leave out the space inside them. This guide ranks seven beds by what each listing confirms for the size whose price was checked: a weight rating, the usable sleep surface, and the depth of the padding.
Each pick was chosen by reading its Amazon listing against VCA Animal Hospitals and Merck Veterinary Manual guidance on big dogs and hard floors. PetPalHQ does not run a bed-testing lab, and no bed here was slept on by a dog for this guide. Where a listing does not state a figure, it is recorded as missing rather than estimated, and where the price check did not show which size a price covers, the card says so.
Why a Big Dog Needs Padding Between It and the Floor
The case for a properly sized bed is strongest for heavy dogs. VCA puts it plainly: "Especially for large and giant breed dogs, the repeated trauma of lying down on hard surfaces β hardwood, tile, or concrete floors β can produce an inflammatory response in the tissue over the elbow." Merck's professional manual names examples of the breeds most often affected: "Hygromas frequently affect large- and giant-breed dogs (eg, Irish Wolfhound, German Shepherd Dog, Great Dane, Mastiff, Newfoundland, Saint Bernard)."
This is not only an old-dog problem. VCA says "any large- or giant-breed dog, of any age, is at risk of developing a hygroma if they spend time resting and sleeping on hard surfaces." Its prevention advice includes "bedding with adequate padding" and covering hard floors where the dog likes to relax. VCA also says keeping large and giant dogs from becoming overweight or obese matters for prevention, so a bed is one part of the answer, not all of it.
Outer Size Is Not Sleep Surface
No veterinary page that sets out a method for measuring a dog for a bed could be verified for this guide, so the picks are compared on what their listings publish. The gap between the outer size and the sleeping area is the number to watch. The Snoozer XL sofa measures 54 inches wide outside, with an interior sleep area of 34 by 24 inches. The Best Friends by Sheri listing describes its XXL donut as 54 x 54 inches with a 40-inch sleeping surface. A flat mattress such as the rank 1 bed has no such gap: its 50 x 34 inch top is all sleeping space.
That gap matters most for the dog's sleeping style. A dog that sleeps stretched out on its side needs a long flat surface; a dog that curls into a ball can use a smaller interior and may like a rim or bolster to lean on. Watch how your dog sleeps on the floor before choosing a style, then check that the sleep surface, not the outer size, fits it.
Weight Ratings: Read the Product Details Table
Three picks publish a maximum weight for the size checked: 130 pounds for the rank 1 mattress, 100 pounds for the Dogbed4less crate pad and 90 pounds for the Casper Large. The Snoozer sofa and the 11-inch XXL bolster bed give no weight rating. The Orvis listing publishes ratings by size and the Sheri listing gives one for its XXL (up to 210 lbs for the Sheri XXL, 60 to 120 lbs for the Orvis X Large), but the price check did not show which size their prices cover, so confirm the size on the listing before relying on those figures.
Washing a Large Dog's Bed
VCA's flea-control advice is direct: "To remove eggs, as well as dead fleas, wash your petβs bedding in hot water or replace it." Care labels often say otherwise. The rank 1 bed's cover is limited to cold or warm water up to 30Β°C / 86Β°F on a delicate cycle, and the Snoozer sofa's cover is cold wash only. No listing fact this guide drew on says a cover is safe in hot water. For a dog with fleas, follow your veterinarian's treatment plan and the bed's label, and be prepared to replace bedding, as VCA suggests. A waterproof liner or inner cover, which the rank 1 bed and the Dogbed4less pad include, keeps accidents out of the foam between washes. The 11-inch XXL bolster bed comes with an inner and an outer cover, and its listing calls the bed water resistant.
Where This Guide Stops
This guide sizes beds for big dogs; it does not cover chewers, joint disease or raised cots. For a dog that destroys bedding, see the chew-proof dog beds guide. For an older dog with arthritis or mobility problems, see the orthopedic dog beds guide for senior pets. A dog that runs hot may do better on one of the elevated cooling dog cots, and a crate that doubles as furniture for a big breed is covered in the furniture-style dog crates guide. The wider home setup lives in the home systems hub.
Head-to-Head Comparison
| Feature | Orthopedic Memory Foam Dog Bed, 7 Inch Thick, Extra Large, With Pillow | Dogbed4less Extra Large Gel-Infused Memory Foam Dog Bed | Casper Dog Bed, Plush Memory Foam, Large, Gray | Snoozer Overstuffed Dog Sofa, Luxury Dog Couch, Sapphire (XL) | XXL Dog Bed, Orthopedic Memory Cooling Foam | Best Friends by Sheri The Original Calming Donut Dog Bed β Washable Plush Pet Bed | Orvis ComfortFill-Eco Couch Dog Bed β Plush Three-Sided Bolster |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Bed style | Flat mattress with headrest | Flat crate pad | Mattress with foam bolsters | Furniture-style sofa | Bolster bed | Round donut | Three-sided couch bed |
| Size checked | Extra Large (listing title) | Extra Large (listing title) | Large, Gray (listing title) | XL, Sapphire (listing title) | Titled XXL; outer size not shown | Not shown at the check | Not shown at the check |
| Stated size for the checked variant | 50 x 34 in | 47 x 29 x 4 in; fits an XL 48 x 30 in crate | 35 x 45 x 7 in | 54 W x 36 D x 13 H in | Not shown | Not shown (listing's XXL: 54 x 54 in) | Not shown (listing's X Large: 50 x 37 in) |
| Usable sleep surface stated | Whole 50 x 34 in top | Whole 47 x 29 in top | Not stated (bolsters on the mattress) | 34 W x 24 D in interior | Not stated | Not shown for the checked size (listing's XXL: 40 in) | Not stated |
| Weight rating | 130 lb (Product Details) | 100 lb (Product Details) | 90 lb (Product Details) | None on the listing | None on the listing | Not shown for the checked size (listing's XXL: up to 210 lbs) | Not shown for the checked size (listing's X Large: 60 to 120 lbs) |
| Stated thickness | 7 in memory foam; 3 in headrest | 4 in | 7 in | Not stated (13 in tall overall) | 6 in base; 11 in with bolster | Not stated | Not stated |
| Cover and cleaning | Removable washable cover, up to 86Β°F; waterproof liner | Waterproof inner cover; washable denim outer | Removable, machine-washable cover | Zip-off cover, cold wash; pillow washable in an XL washer | Two washable, removable covers | Removable washable cover; water- and dirt-resistant bottom | Whole bed washable, or unzip the cover |
| Score: Size Fit for Big Dogs (0-10, Γ 0.30) | 10 | 10 | 8 | 6 | 3 | 4 | 4 |
| Score: Usable Sleep Surface (0-10, Γ 0.25) | 10 | 8 | 4 | 5 | 2 | 2 | 2 |
| Score: Padding Depth (0-10, Γ 0.20) | 10 | 6 | 10 | 3 | 8 | 3 | 3 |
| Score: Cleaning (0-10, Γ 0.15) | 10 | 10 | 7 | 10 | 10 | 10 | 10 |
| Score: Value (0-10, Γ 0.10) | 8 | 10 | 5 | 5 | 10 | 8 | 2 |
| PetPal Big-Dog Bed Fit Score | 9.8 | 8.7 | 7.0 | 5.7 | 5.5 | 4.6 | 4.0 |
| Check price | Amazon | Amazon | Amazon | Amazon | Amazon | Amazon | Amazon |

$109.95
Current price Β· checked Oct 3, 2026
- Price checked October 3, 2026, size Extra Large, per the listing title
- 50 inches long and 34 inches wide, 7-inch memory foam, 3-inch headrest
- Maximum Weight Recommendation 130 pounds, per the Product Details table
- Includes a waterproof liner; removable, machine-washable cover
- 12-month limited warranty that covers abnormal foam collapse under normal use
This flat memory foam mattress ranks first because its listing gives the checked size every number this guide weights most: a footprint, a weight rating and a foam depth. The listing describes the bed as 50 inches long and 34 inches wide, made of 7-inch-thick memory foam with a 3-inch-thick headrest, and its Product Details table gives a Maximum Weight Recommendation of 130 pounds. With no bolsters around the edge, the whole top is sleeping space, which suits a big dog that sleeps stretched out. It is named here by its listing title because the brand could not be confirmed when the price was checked.
Read the care label before the first wash. The cover is machine washable on a delicate cycle in cold or warm water up to 30Β°C / 86Β°F, with no bleach, and the bed includes a waterproof liner. That cap sits below VCA's flea-control advice to wash a pet's bedding in hot water or replace it.
A 12-month limited warranty covers defects in materials or workmanship, including foam integrity, zippers, seams and the liner, plus abnormal foam collapse under normal use. The same listing says that warranty excludes chewing damage, so a dog that tears up bedding belongs in the chew-proof guide instead. Expect the foam to take 2β3 days to fully expand after delivery, per the listing, and longer in a cold room.
What We Love
- The whole 50 x 34 inch top is open sleeping space, with a 3-inch headrest
- 7-inch memory foam
- 130-pound maximum weight recommendation, the highest confirmed rating for a checked size on this page
- Waterproof liner included
- 12-month limited warranty that names abnormal foam collapse
What Could Be Better
- Cover wash limit of 30Β°C / 86Β°F, below the hot water VCA advises for flea control
- Warranty excludes chewing damage
- The brand behind the listing could not be confirmed at the October 3 check
The Verdict
Buy the 7-inch Extra Large memory foam bed for a large dog up to 130 pounds that sleeps stretched out, and wash its cover cool and gently.
Sources
- Listing specifications (Amazon): Includes waterproof liner, Orthopedic, Portable, Removable Cover, Washable
- Listing specifications (Amazon): The cover is machine washable on a delicate cycle using cold or warm water (up to 30Β°C / 86Β°F)βavoid bleach and allow the liner to dry completely before reassembly.
- VCA Animal Hospitals β Hygroma in Dogs: In addition, it is important to provide bedding with adequate padding.

$82.79
Current price Β· checked Oct 3, 2026
- Price checked October 3, 2026, size Extra Large, per the listing title
- 47 x 29 x 4 inches, per the Product Details table
- Sized to fit an XL 48 x 30 inch crate
- Maximum Weight Recommendation 100 pounds, per the Product Details table
- Waterproof internal zipper cover plus a washable navy denim external cover
A big dog that sleeps in a crate needs a bed that matches the crate floor before anything else. Dogbed4less sizes this pad to fit into an XL 48 x 30 inch crate, and its Product Details table lists it at 47 x 29 x 4 inches with a Maximum Weight Recommendation of 100 pounds. VCA's advice to cover hard floor surfaces where the dog likes to relax applies to a crate tray as much as to a kitchen floor.
Two covers come with it: a waterproof internal zipper cover that protects the memory foam, and a heavy-duty washable navy blue denim external zipper cover over a gel-infused memory foam pad. The listing says the outer cover is machine washable and dry-able. That pairing suits a crate, where accidents and drool land on the bed rather than the floor.
Thickness is where the Dogbed4less crate pad gives ground. At 4 inches it is the thinnest stated bed on this page, which is why it trails the 7-inch mattress on padding. It ranks second on its confirmed crate fit, its 100-pound rating and the lowest price among the picks that publish both a size and a weight rating.
What We Love
- Sized to fit an XL 48 x 30 inch crate
- 100-pound maximum weight recommendation
- Waterproof internal cover under a washable denim outer cover
- Outer cover is machine washable and dry-able, per the listing
What Could Be Better
- 4 inches thick, the thinnest stated bed on this page
- At 29 inches wide, a narrower sleep surface than the 34-inch-wide rank 1 mattress
The Verdict
Get the Dogbed4less crate pad for a large dog up to 100 pounds that sleeps in an XL 48 x 30 inch crate, where a pad that fits the tray matters more than extra depth.
Sources
- Dogbed4less (Amazon listing): Fit into XL 48X30 or 30x48 inches crate.
- Dogbed4less (Amazon listing): This bed comes with x1 Waterproof internal zipper cover to protect the memory foam, x1 Heavy Duty washable Navy Blue Denim external zipper cover and x1 gel infused memory foam pad.
- VCA Animal Hospitals β Hygroma in Dogs: Finally, it is worthwhile to cover hard floor surfaces in areas where the dog likes to relax.

$224.10
Current price Β· checked Oct 3, 2026
- Price checked October 3, 2026, size Large, color Gray, per the listing title
- 35 x 45 x 7 inches, per the Product Details table
- Maximum Weight Recommendation 90 pounds, per the Product Details table
- Foam bolsters on the mattress for the dog's head
- Excess fabric on top for dogs that dig and scratch before lying down
- Removable, machine-washable cover
The Casper Large is the pick for the lower end of the large-dog range, and its ceiling is firm: the Product Details table gives a Maximum Weight Recommendation of 90 pounds. For a dog up to 90 pounds, it adds two things the flat beds above it do not. Foam bolsters on the mattress frame the sleeping area, and the listing describes excess material on top for dogs that like to dig and scratch before they settle.
Its Product Details table lists it at 35 x 45 x 7 inches. Because the bolsters sit on the mattress, the outer size is not the sleeping area, and the listing does not state the space inside the bolsters. Measure the dog lying down before comparing it against the flat beds above.
The cover is removable and machine washable. At $224.10 it costs more than twice as much as either pick above it, and that price, its 90-pound limit and the unstated sleep surface keep it third.
What We Love
- 7 inches thick, per the Product Details table
- Foam bolsters for a head rest
- Extra top fabric for dogs that dig before lying down
- Removable, machine-washable cover
What Could Be Better
- Rated to 90 pounds, so not a bed for a 100-pound-plus dog
- Sleep surface inside the bolsters is not stated
- Costs more than twice as much as either higher-ranked pick
The Verdict
Choose the Casper Large for a dog under 90 pounds that digs at its bed before lying down, and skip it for anything heavier.
Sources
- Casper (Amazon listing): Excess material on top for dogs that like to dig and scratch to make the perfect sleeping spot
- Casper (Amazon listing): Supportive foam bolsters on the mattress create a safe space for dogs to lay their heads
- Merck Veterinary Manual β Hygroma in Dogs: The trauma could be the result of impaired ambulation or excessive time spent in recumbency on hard surfaces.

$240.95
Current price Β· checked Oct 3, 2026
- Price checked October 3, 2026, size XL, color Sapphire, per the listing title
- Outer size 54 W x 36 D x 13 H inches; interior sleep area 34 W x 24 D inches
- Zip-off cover is machine washable in cold water; tumble or hang dry
- Center pillow has no removable cover but is machine washable in an XL washer
- Made to order in the US and handsewn, per the listing
On a furniture-style bed, outer size and sleeping space can differ sharply, and Snoozer's listing is candid about it: the XL sofa measures 54 inches wide, 36 deep and 13 high, with an interior sleep area of 34 by 24 inches. That interior is about half the footprint of the rank 1 mattress, so the Snoozer sofa suits a large dog that sleeps curled up against the arms, not a long dog that sleeps flat out.
Cleaning is split in two. The zip-off cover is machine washable in cold water, then tumbled or hung dry. The center pillow has no removable cover, but the listing says the whole pillow is machine washable in an XL washer, so check that your machine, or a laundromat's, takes it before buying.
Each sofa is made to order in the US and handsewn, per the listing. It ranks fourth because the listing gives no weight rating and no base thickness, and it has the second-highest price on this page.
What We Love
- Publishes both its outer size and its interior sleep area
- Zip-off, machine-washable cover
- Center pillow can go in an XL washer whole
- Made to order in the US and handsewn
What Could Be Better
- Interior sleep area of 34 x 24 inches, too small for a large dog that stretches out
- No weight rating on the listing
- Cover is cold wash only; the pillow needs an XL washer
The Verdict
Buy the Snoozer sofa for a large dog that curls up and a room where the bed has to look like furniture, after checking the dog fits 34 x 24 inches.
Sources
- Snoozer (Amazon listing): SIZED FOR LARGE DOGS - This extra large dog sofa measures 54"W x 36"D x 13"H, with an interior sleep area of 34"W x 24"D.
- Snoozer (Amazon listing): EASY TO CLEAN - The zip-off cover is machine washable, simply wash cold and tumble or hang dry.

$84.97
Current price Β· checked Oct 3, 2026
- Price checked October 3, 2026, on a listing titled XXL; the check did not show this variant's outer dimensions
- 6-inch base and 5-inch bolster, 11 inches high in total
- Three-layer base: 4-inch foam, 1-inch memory foam and 1-inch eggshell foam infused with cooling gel
- Two covers, inner and outer, both washable and removable
This bolster bed's listing spells out its foam build layer by layer. It describes a 6-inch base and a 5-inch bolster, giving a raised bed 11 inches high, and spells out the base as three layers: 4 inches of foam, 1 inch of memory foam and 1 inch of eggshell foam infused with cooling gel. It comes with two covers, an inner and an outer, both washable and removable, and the listing calls the bed water resistant.
What it does not publish is the fit. The listing gives no weight rating, and the October 3 price check did not show the outer dimensions of the variant at this price, even though the title says XXL. Before ordering the 11-inch XXL bolster bed, open the size selector and confirm the outer size and the price together. It is named by its listing title because the brand could not be confirmed at the check.
Expect the foam to look compressed out of the box. The listing says it regains its shape within 24-72 hours. It ranks fifth: strong on padding depth, but near the bottom on the size facts this guide weights most.
What We Love
- 6-inch base under a 5-inch bolster, 11 inches high
- Two washable, removable covers
- Lowest price among the bolster beds here
What Could Be Better
- No weight rating on the listing
- Outer dimensions of the checked variant were not shown at the price check
- The brand behind the listing could not be confirmed at the October 3 check
The Verdict
Consider the 11-inch XXL bolster bed only after the listing's size selector confirms an outer size that fits your dog at the price shown.
Sources
- Listing specifications (Amazon): Water Resistant dog bed comes with 2 covers, an inner and an outer, both washable and removable.
- Listing specifications (Amazon): Upon initial unboxing the foam may appear compressed. Rest assured that it will regain its original shape within 24-72 hours.
Best Friends by Sheri Best Friends by Sheri The Original Calming Donut Dog Bed β Washable Plush Pet Bed

$149.99
Current price Β· checked Oct 3, 2026
- Price checked October 3, 2026; the check did not show which size this price covers
- Round donut shape with a raised rim
- Removable, machine-washable cover
- Water- and dirt-resistant bottom
A donut bed is for the dog that sleeps in a ball with its chin on the rim. The Sheri donut is the round option here, with a removable, machine-washable cover and a water- and dirt-resistant bottom. "Calming" is the product's name; this guide makes no claim about anxiety.
Size is the open question. The listing describes its XXL option as 54 x 54 inches with a 40-inch sleeping surface, for extra-large breeds up to 210 lbs, but the October 3 price check did not show which size the $149.99 figure covers. Select the size on the listing and confirm its price there before buying. Even in the XXL description, the sleeping surface is 40 inches across against a 54-inch outside, the same outer-versus-inner gap the Snoozer sofa shows.
Because the size behind the checked price is unconfirmed and the listing facts give no padding depth, it scores low on this guide's size and padding factors and ranks sixth.
What We Love
- Round donut shape for dogs that curl up
- Removable, machine-washable cover
- Water- and dirt-resistant bottom
What Could Be Better
- The price check did not show which size the price covers
- No padding depth among the listing facts this guide drew on
The Verdict
Pick the Sheri donut for a big dog that sleeps curled up, choosing the size on the listing and confirming its price there.
Sources
- Best Friends by Sheri (Amazon listing): Easy to Clean: Water- and dirt-resistant bottom; machine-washable removable cover for easy care
- Best Friends by Sheri (Amazon listing): Perfect Size: XXL (54" x 54") with a 40" sleeping surface, roomy enough for extra-large breeds up to 210 lbs

$339.00
Current price Β· checked Oct 3, 2026
- Price checked October 3, 2026; the check did not show which size this price covers
- Three-sided bolster couch design
- Published size ladder from Small to X Large; X Large is 50 x 37 inches for dogs 60 to 120 lbs
- Whole bed goes in the laundry, or unzip the cover
- ComfortFill-Eco filling made from recycled plastic bottles
Orvis publishes the clearest size ladder of any pick here. The listing gives Small at 35.5 x 25.5 inches for dogs up to 40 lbs, Medium at 40 x 26.5 inches for 40 to 60 lbs, and Large at 44 x 31 inches and X Large at 50 x 37 inches for dogs 60 to 120 lbs. For a large dog, X Large is the size to look at. The October 3 price check did not show which size the $339.00 figure covers, so choose the size on the listing and confirm the price there.
Washing is the strongest part of the listing. The entire bed can go in the laundry, or the cover unzips for cleaning on its own, and the ComfortFill-Eco filling is made from recycled plastic bottles. For a large dog's bed, a whole-bed wash is a real advantage.
The Orvis couch bed ranks last on two counts. The listing facts give no usable sleep surface inside the three-sided bolster and no padding depth, and $339.00 is the highest price on this page.
What We Love
- Published size ladder, with X Large rated for dogs 60 to 120 lbs
- The whole bed can go in the laundry
- Filling made from recycled plastic bottles
What Could Be Better
- The price check did not show which size the price covers
- No sleep surface inside the bolster and no padding depth among the listing facts
- Highest price on this page
The Verdict
Choose the Orvis couch bed when a fully washable three-sided bolster bed matters most, and confirm the X Large size and its price on the listing.
Sources
- Orvis (Amazon listing): MULTIPLE SIZE OPTIONS available to suit different breeds Small 35.5 x 25.5 inches for dogs up to 40 lbs Medium 40 x 26.5 inches for dogs 40 to 60 lbs Large 44 x 31 inches and X Large 50 x 37 inches for dogs 60 to 120 lbs
- Orvis (Amazon listing): MACHINE WASHABLE DESIGN allows you to place the entire bed in the laundry or unzip the cover for easy removal and cleaning
How We Score
Formula
PetPal Big-Dog Bed Fit Score = (Size Fit for Big Dogs Γ 0.30) + (Usable Sleep Surface Γ 0.25) + (Padding Depth Γ 0.20) + (Cleaning Γ 0.15) + (Value Γ 0.10), each factor scored 0-10 and the total rounded half-up to one decimal
Score Factors
- Size Fit for Big Dogs Β· 30%
- What the listing confirms about the size whose price was checked. Scoring: 10 when the checked size has stated dimensions and a weight rating of 100 lb or more; 8 when it has stated dimensions and a weight rating under 100 lb; 6 when it has stated dimensions but no weight rating; 4 when the price check did not show the size, but the listing publishes a size ladder or a largest-size specification with a weight rating; 3 when the size is named only in the listing title, with no dimensions or weight rating. Weighted highest because no veterinary sizing method could be verified for this guide, so the listing's own numbers are the only fit evidence.
- Usable Sleep Surface Β· 25%
- The area a dog can actually lie on. For a flat mattress or pad, the stated length times width is the sleep surface; for a bolstered bed, only a stated interior or sleep surface counts. Scoring: 10 for 1,500 square inches or more; 8 for 1,200 to 1,499; 5 for 800 to 1,199; 4 for a bolstered bed with a stated outer size but no stated sleep surface; 2 when no sleep surface is stated for the checked size. Rank 1 is 50 x 34 inches (1,700 sq in), rank 2 is 47 x 29 inches (1,363 sq in) and the Snoozer interior is 34 x 24 inches (816 sq in).
- Padding Depth Β· 20%
- The stated foam or bed thickness, read against VCA's advice to provide bedding with adequate padding. Scoring: 10 for 7 inches or more; 8 for 6 to 6.9 inches; 6 for 4 to 5.9 inches; 3 when no thickness is stated.
- Cleaning Β· 15%
- Read against VCA's flea-control advice to wash a pet's bedding in hot water or replace it. Scoring: 7 for a removable, machine-washable cover; 10 when the listing adds a waterproof liner or inner cover, a water-resistant bottom, a second washable cover, or a fully machine-washable bed or pillow. No listing fact this guide drew on says a cover is safe in hot water, so no pick earns credit for that.
- Value Β· 10%
- The Amazon current price each card shows, checked October 3, 2026, in bands: under $100 scores 10; $100 to $149.99 scores 8; $150 to $249.99 scores 5; $250 or more scores 2. For the two picks whose check did not show the size, the band applies to the figure checked, not to any particular size. Weighted last because a bed the dog does not fit is no saving. The per-factor scores for every pick are printed in the comparison table so each total can be recomputed.
| Rank | Product | Score |
|---|---|---|
| #1 | Orthopedic Memory Foam Dog Bed, 7 Inch Thick, Extra Large, With Pillow | 9.8 |
| #2 | Dogbed4less Dogbed4less Extra Large Gel-Infused Memory Foam Dog Bed | 8.7 |
| #3 | Casper Casper Dog Bed, Plush Memory Foam, Large, Gray | 7.0 |
| #4 | Snoozer Snoozer Overstuffed Dog Sofa, Luxury Dog Couch, Sapphire (XL) | 5.7 |
| #5 | XXL Dog Bed, Orthopedic Memory Cooling Foam | 5.5 |
| #6 | Best Friends by Sheri Best Friends by Sheri The Original Calming Donut Dog Bed β Washable Plush Pet Bed | 4.6 |
| #7 | Orvis Orvis ComfortFill-Eco Couch Dog Bed β Plush Three-Sided Bolster | 4.0 |
When NOT to Buy
Do not buy any bed on this page for a dog that tears up its bedding. The rank 1 listing's warranty excludes chewing damage, and the chew-proof dog beds guide covers beds built for chewers. If the bed is for an older dog with arthritis or stiff joints, start with the orthopedic dog beds guide for senior pets; this guide sizes beds for big dogs of any age and makes no joint claims. Skip the Casper Large for a dog over 90 pounds, and skip the Snoozer sofa for a large dog that sleeps stretched out, since its interior is 34 x 24 inches. For the two picks whose price check did not show the size, do not order until the listing's size selector shows the size you need and its price.
Frequently Asked Questions
- What size bed does a 100-pound dog need?
- Start with the weight rating on the listing's Product Details table, then check the sleep surface. Among these picks, two publish a rating of 100 pounds or more for the size checked: the rank 1 mattress at 130 pounds and the Dogbed4less crate pad at 100 pounds. The Casper Large stops at 90 pounds. No veterinary measuring formula could be verified for this guide, so measure your dog lying in its usual sleeping position and compare that with the stated sleep surface, not the outer size.
- Does a young large-breed dog need a padded bed, or is that only for seniors?
- VCA says any large- or giant-breed dog, of any age, is at risk of developing a hygroma if it spends time resting and sleeping on hard surfaces. In its discussion of how hygromas are treated, VCA adds that "Egg-shell foam or memory foam beds may provide the best padding." That is general guidance about padding, not a claim about any bed on this page. VCA also stresses keeping large and giant dogs from becoming overweight.
- Why does a bed listed at 54 inches feel small for my dog?
- Because the 54 inches may include the bolsters or arms. The Snoozer XL sofa is 54 inches wide outside but has a 34 x 24 inch interior sleep area, and the Sheri listing describes its XXL donut as 54 x 54 inches with a 40-inch sleeping surface. Compare the sleep surface with your dog's length when lying down.
- Will an XL crate bed fit a 48-inch crate?
- The Dogbed4less pad is sized for exactly that: its listing says it fits an XL 48 x 30 inch crate, and its Product Details table gives 47 x 29 x 4 inches. Check your crate's inside floor, since crate brands differ, and remember that 4 inches is the thinnest bed on this page.
- Is soft bedding enough on its own?
- Merck's professional manual says "Soft bedding works well for some dogs." It says this in the context of managing small hygromas, so it is not a guarantee. VCA's prevention advice pairs adequate padding with covering hard floors where the dog likes to relax and keeping the dog at a healthy weight. If your dog already has a swelling over the elbow, see your veterinarian before changing bedding.
Bottom Line
Get the 7-inch Extra Large memory foam bed for a large dog up to 130 pounds that sleeps stretched out: a flat 50 x 34 inch top, 7-inch memory foam and a waterproof liner.
Get the Dogbed4less crate pad for an XL 48 x 30 inch crate and a dog up to 100 pounds.
Get the Casper Large for a dog under 90 pounds that digs at its bed before lying down.
Get the Snoozer XL sofa for a large dog that curls up, after checking the dog fits its 34 x 24 inch interior.
Consider the 11-inch XXL bolster bed, the Sheri donut and the Orvis couch bed only after the listing confirms the size and its price together.
Sources & Methodology
Methodology
PetPal Big-Dog Bed Fit Score = (Size Fit for Big Dogs Γ 0.30) + (Usable Sleep Surface Γ 0.25) + (Padding Depth Γ 0.20) + (Cleaning Γ 0.15) + (Value Γ 0.10), each factor scored 0-10 and the total rounded half-up to one decimal
Expert review sources
- VCA Animal Hospitals β Hygroma in Dogs
- VCA Animal Hospitals β Flea Control in Dogs
- Merck Veterinary Manual (professional version) β Hygroma in Dogs
- Manufacturer-supplied Amazon listing specifications for Dogbed4less, Casper, Snoozer, Best Friends by Sheri, Orvis and two listings whose brand could not be confirmed, read October 3, 2026; prices checked October 3, 2026
Prices and specs verified October 3, 2026.
About the author
Nick Miles is the chief editor of PetPalHQ. This guide is an editorial synthesis of VCA Animal Hospitals and Merck Veterinary Manual guidance on large and giant-breed dogs resting on hard surfaces, read against manufacturer-supplied Amazon listing specifications. PetPalHQ does not run a bed-testing lab, and size, thickness and weight figures are manufacturer specifications, not independent measurements. The PetPal Big-Dog Bed Fit Score is a weighted composite of published guidance and published specifications, and the per-factor scores for each pick are printed in the comparison table, so each total can be recomputed.
PetPalHQ is a participant in the Amazon Services LLC Associates Program. We may earn commissions from qualifying purchases β at no extra cost to you.



